A Meeting of the Board of Education of the Ozark Mountain School District.

Type: Regular Place: St. Joe Central Office Time: 6:00 p.m. Date: July 31, 2017

Members Present: Jesse Rose, Ben Taylor, Dale MacMillian, Randy Brumley, Donald Morris, Jarred Morgan and Darren Parker

- I. School Board President, Jesse Rose, called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.
- II. Jarred Morgan moved to approve the minutes of the June 19, 2017 meeting. Ben Taylor second and the motion passes unanimously.
- III. After discussion pertaining to reimbursement of personal vehicle mileage for bank deposits, the decision to cease reimbursement was proposed. Ben Taylor made the motion to approve the financial report for June 2017. Dale MacMillan second the motion and the motion was unanimously approved.
- IV. Mr. Jones presented the Searcy County Hazard Mitigation Plan, emphasizing that it would only affect Searcy County - St. Joe campus. The motion to adopt the plan was made by Ben Taylor, second by Jared Morgan, and unanimously approved.
- V. Mr. Jones spoke to Arkansas Legislature amended Act 1004 Arkansas Procurement Law. Act 1004 amended the definition of "Small procurements" to exceed a purchase price of \$20,000, instead of its original \$10,000 limit. Mr. Jones recommended that OMSD keep procurements at the \$10,000 limit. Donald Morris made the motion to accept Mr. Jones' recommendation and keep the procurement limit at \$10,000, Dale MacMillian second the motion, the motion passed unanimously.
- VI. The Board was presented amended Act 910 Annual School Election. The Board discussed the school election timeline and decided keeping elections in the month of May would best serve the Ozark Mountain School District. Donald Morris made the motion, second by Dale MacMillian, and unanimously approved.
- VII. The 2017-2018 Student Handbook was presented by Mr. Billy Carter. After review and discussion, revisions were made to the following sections:
  - i. Dress Code to include all school activities as well as the school day.
  - ii. Sunglasses may not be worn inside school buildings unless they are a medical necessity.
  - iii. Graduation Addendum, 'Seniors who have not completed all requirements for graduation will not be allowed to participate in graduation exercises unless permission has been granted by the OMSD School Board.'

Ben Taylor made the motion to adopt the 2017-18 Student Handbook as modified, motion was second by Darren Parker, and unanimously passed.

- VIII. The OMSD Board moved into executive session at 7:18 p.m. to discuss Personnel. Reassembling at 8:55 p.m., the Board announced their decisions:
  - A. Resignations:
    - i. Marilyn Williams Bruno-Pyatt, School Nurse

Randy Brumley made the motion to accept Ms. Williams' resignation, Ben Taylor second the motion, and motion was unanimously approved.

- B. Request to Hire:
  - i. Meredith Jones Bruno-Pyatt, School Nurse: Jarred Morgan made the motion to accept with a 1 year provisional contract, Darren Parker second. The vote was 5 in favor with one member recusing. Motion passed.
  - ii. Amy Robins Bruno-Pyatt, Special Education Teacher: Donald Morris made the motion to accept, Ben Taylor second, motion passed unanimously.
  - iii. Brittany Mize St. Joe, Mathematics: Ben Taylor made the motion to accept with a 1 year provisional contract, Jarred Morgan second, motion passed unanimously.
  - iv. Rachel Lanning St. Joe, English: Jarred Morgan made the motion to accept with a 1 year provisional contract, Randy Brumley second, motion passed unanimously.
  - v. Craig Enloe Western Grove, Science: Dale MacMillian made the motion to accept with a 1 year provisional contract, Darren Parker second, motion passed unanimously.
  - vi. Bus Drivers:
    - a. James Thomas St. Joe
    - b. Cindy Brummond Western Grove
    - c. Tommy Massey Western Grove

Dale MacMillian made the motion to accept recommendation of bus drivers, Donald Morris second, motion passed unanimously.

VIII. Transfer Request

The motion was made by Ben Taylor, and second by Jarred Morgan to approve the following request of Petition to Transfer of Students:

Student Name	<u>Age</u>	Resident District	<b>Receiving District</b>
Kayleigh Wise	8	Valley Springs School	Western Grove School
Raven Davis	14	Valley Springs School	Western Grove School
Joey Busby	13	Valley Springs School	Western Grove School
Brady Jones	16	Bergman School	Western Grove School
Jaden Sisco	14	Harrison School	Western Grove School
Seth Sisco	12	Harrison School	Western Grove School
Natalie Collins	7	Harrison School	Western Grove School

## Transfers In To Ozark Mountain School District:

Kyra Markum	12	St. Joe School	Western Grove School
Jacob Duncan	12	Yellville-Summit School	Bruno-Pyatt
James Duncan	5	Yellville-Summit School	Bruno-Pyatt
Drew McKinney	12	Bergman School	St. Joe School
Jonathan McKinney	9	Bergman School	St. Joe School

## Transfers Out of Ozark Mountain School District:

Student Name	<u>Age</u>	Resident District	<b>Receiving District</b>
Dylan Harmon	5	St. Joe School	Valley Springs School

Meeting was adjourned at 9:02 p.m.

President

Secretary