[Type here]

A meeting of the Board of Education of the Ozark Mountain School District Type: Regular Place: St. Joe February 20, 2017 Time: 6:00 pm Members present: Jesse Rose, Ben Taylor, Jarred Morgan, Dale MacMillan, Darren Parker and Donald Morris. Absent: Jennifer Spence

- I. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm
- II. Minutes of January 16, 2017 Board Meeting-Ben Taylor made a motion to approve the minutes and the motion was seconded by Donald Morris. Unanimous vote.
- III. Financial Report for January 2017-Mr. Jones presented monthly financial report. Dale MacMillan made a motion to accept the financial report. Motion was seconded by Jarred Morgan and approved unanimously. Mr. Jones reported the special education lawsuit has been settled with no fault on either side. Jarred Morgan moved to approve the settlement. Dale MacMillan seconded. Unanimous.
- IV. Norman Hill

Mr. Hill presented to operate a K-12 school on each campus. This will combine 6 LEA's down to 3 LEA's. This will allow us to meet the standards for K-12 and that will give us a little more flexibility with reorganization. The big benefit is when you are under 300 students at each campus.

Average Daily Membership for first 3 quarters is projected to be down by about 22 students which is around \$140,000.00. We should know by March or April. We need to let attrition reduce staff as much as we can. Check certification on all staff to possibly absorb some positions.

The state will not fund HB1155 concerning teacher's salaries. This will require a \$400 increase to the base of the licensed salary schedule. Mr. Hill has just started working on the analysis.

Ben Taylor moved to operate each campus as K-12, reducing our LEAs by 3. Donald Morris seconded and the vote was unanimous.

- V. Mr. Jones recommended to renew the principal's contracts for Billy Carter, Nichole Cunningham and Jess Knapp. Motion was made by Jarred Morgan, seconded by Darren Parker and passed unanimously.
- VI. Mr. Jones recommended renewal of contracts for central office personnel: Mitzi Cantrell, Renee Gregory, Duane Ingram, B.J. Jarrett, Andrea Pendarvis, David Pilgrim, Deannie Stills and Denise Turney. Dale MacMillan made the motion, Ben Taylor seconded and the vote was unanimous.

- VII. Interviews for Level III Secretary
  - A. Melissa Glidewell
  - B. Emily Little
  - C. Beth Shatwell
  - D. Ashley Walker
  - E. Mari Walker
- VIII. The board went into executive session at 7:01 pm & returned to open session at 8:45 pm
- IX. Personnel
  - Retirement resignation from Mary Ann Chaney, effective June 30, 2017. Motion to accept made by Donald Morris and seconded by Ben Taylor. Unanimous.
  - Dale MacMillan moved to recommend Ashley Walker for the secretary position. The second was provided by Donald Morris. Unanimous.
- X. The meeting was adjourned at 8:50 pm.

President

Secretary