A meeting of the Board of Education of the Ozark Mountain School District

Type: Regular Place: St. Joe August 15, 2016

Time: 6:00

Members present: Jesse Rose, Donald Morris, Jarred Morgan, Ben Taylor, Dale MacMillan and Jennifer

Spence

Members absent: none

I. Call to order-School Board President, Jesse Rose, called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m. Handbooks are requested. Jess Knapp gave handbooks to each board member.

II. Board Minutes of July 18 and July 25, 2016.

Donald Morris made motion to approve the minutes of July 18 and July 25, 2016 meetings. Ben Taylor seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.

III. Financial Report- Jarred Morgan made a motion to approve the financial report for June 2016. Dale MacMillan seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.

IV. Officer Eldon Hellums- School Resource Officer- Mr. Hellums spoke to board regarding need for School Resource Officer.

Hourly rate of 9.25 per hour not more than 190 days, beginning in February.

Mr. Jones discussed costs. Salary, benefits, lights on the car, radios, design for car.

Mr. Jones recommendation is to hire first of February. Ben Taylor made the motion to hire and it was seconded by Donald Morris. It was voted on unanimously.

V. Superintendent's Report

Elem 142; High School 130 = Western Grove total 272 Elem 78; High School 110+ 20 across lake= Bruno Pyatt 208

Elem 80; High School 87 = St. Joe 167 **TOTAL 647 STUDENTS IN OMSD.**

VI. Date of September 2016 meeting - Next meeting date for board is Tuesday, Sept 27th with annual report to the public, budget and re-organization of the board.

VII. Transfer request:

Mr. Jones recommended to approve the following student transfer requests:

- 1) Ethan Collins, age 5, from Western Grove to Jasper. Jarred Morgan made a motion to approve the transfer, Jennifer Spence seconded the motion and it was voted unanimously to approve.
- 2) Shelby Bowman, age 17 and Keana Walter, age 13, from Western Grove to Valley Springs.

 Donald Morris made the motion to approve the transfer, Ben Taylor seconded the motion, and it was voted unanimously.
- 3) Raylee Rodman, age 7, Western Grove to Valley Springs. Jarred Morgan made the motion to approve the transfer, Dale MacMillan seconded, it was voted unanimously to approve.

Ozark Mountain School District Board Meeting August 15, 2016 (continued)

- 4) Aubrey and Shane Henniger, age 9 and 5, from Western grove to Valley Springs. Jennifer Spence made a motion to approve the transfer, Ben Taylor seconded and it was approved unanimously.
- 5) Cammie Ray, age 12, from Western Grove to Valley Springs. Dale MacMillan made the motion to approve the transfer. Jarred Morgan seconded it. It passed unanimously.
- 6) Autumn and Wyatt Bigham, age 8 and 6, From Western Grove to Harrison. Jarred Morgan made the motion to approve the transfer. Donald Morris seconded with a unanimous vote.
- 7) Autumn Hatcher, age13, from Bruno Pyatt to Valley Springs. Ben Taylor made the motion to approve the transfer. Jennifer Spence seconded the motion. It was also approved unanimously.
- 8) Adi Christian from Western Grove to St. Joe. Ben Taylor made the motion to approve, Donald Morris seconded, voted unanimously.
- 9) Kasen Keymer from St. Joe to Yellville. Jarred Morgan made the motion to approve and Dale MacMillan seconded, voted unanimously.
- 10) Cammi Mize from Marshall to St. Joe. Donald Morris moved to approve, Ben Taylor seconded the motion and it was voted unanimously.

VIII. Personnel

Resignations:

Mr. Jones recommended to accept the following resignations:

- 1. Emily Martin-Ending date: August 12th, 2016. Ben Taylor made the motion, Dale MacMillan seconded with a unanimous vote.
- 2. Linda Watts-Ending date: August 21st, 2016. Jarred Morgan made the motion, Donald Morris seconded, with a unanimous vote.
- 3. Kyra Sisco-Ending date: August 15th, 2016. Dale MacMillan made the motion, Donald Morris seconded with a unanimous vote.
- 4. Rona Cross- Jennifer Spence made the motion, Jarred Morgan seconded, voted unanimously.

Employment:

Mr. Jones recommended employment of the following retroactive to August 9, 2016:

- 1. Emily Martin-Paraprofessional
- 2. Sarah Blair- Maintenance
- 3. Gary Jackson-Maintenance

IX. Meeting Adjourned at 7:24

4. Hope Carter-Paraprofessional

Dale MacMillan moved to approve, Ben Taylor seconded, passed unanimously.

President	Secretary	